Janet's thread

A weblog, mostly about knitting but other topics appear

Red is my Choice of Colours for June in Dublin June 28, 2010

Filed under: Colours — Janet @ 2:44 pm

There are so many beautiful colours this month.  Instead of showing the vast array I am going to choose the colour red.  And I’m going to start with some photos of red doors.

Red was a popular colour for some old doors

     door in Kilternan

 

Red is (or was) a popular colour, judging by these 2 old doors.

 The turnstyle entrance below was red once upon a time – it’s on Glenamuck Road in Kilternan

The door to the right is very close to the new spiffy Dundrum Town Centre

 

  sign on Palmer’s Pub (aka Palmer’s Golden Ball Tavern) in Kilternan – I suppose the sign would not be politically correct nowadays – I wonder long it has been there

  another old sign on the wall of Palmer’s in Kilternan

  and here’s the ashtray on the window sill – left probably from the previous evening?  I daresay much as I like the smoking ban, I do think that Palmer’s does not have quite the same atmosphere now that smoking is no longer permitted inside.  Somehow I think of Palmer’s as having a roaring fire and a bit of a haze of smoke against the rain and wind outside – figures lurking in dark corners smoking and enjoying their pint – exchanging craic re the latest horse races or some political issue

  the Eagle at the main intersection in Dundrum was touched up last week with a new coat of paint

  Drohan Lettings has been here on Dundrum Main Street for many years.  This red paint job was done within the past few days – for years this door frame was black and hardly noticeable.  In fact I wondered  if the firm had gone out of business because the door was so scruffy.  But a few months ago I had cause to go looking for them and sure enough, they were still there and very spiffy inside.  Now they have a door to match their interior.

  another Dundrum Main Street door

I could go on but I think that’s enough for now.  Red is certainly an important colour for catching one’s eye.  In this entry in Wikipedia you can read all sorts of things about the colour red.

For reading and seeing photos of other bloggers choices of colours for June, check out the list on Sue’s blog Life Looms Large.  Her colours of June are in the entry for June 17.

 

7 Responses to “Red is my Choice of Colours for June in Dublin”

  1. Joanna Says:

    I have a green door, which is meant to look like an Irish door, and I am pleased when anyone says that it looks Irish. Only people who have been there notice that aspect of it.

    • Janet Says:

      Funny that, I almost chose green as my colour for June. I have a lot of photos of green objects – like letter boxes, and water pumps, etc. but I can’t think off-hand of any green doors.
      Janet

  2. Tina T-P Says:

    What a fun thing to do, following around all that red. Nice post! T.

  3. Susan Says:

    Lovely photos Janet 🙂

  4. Annie Says:

    Nice post, Janet! It’s so nice to see all these colours from around the world.

  5. Great colors of June! I love your perspective on the colors of the month!

    I’m surprised to see so many red doors. I’ll have to pay attention to see if I see any around town here. I know there’s a bar named “The Red Door”, because red doors are pretty distinctive in these parts.

    Interesting reading on wikipedia. I don’t use red a lot in weaving, in decorating or in apparel. Wonder why?

    Thanks for sharing your colors!
    Sue

  6. Leigh Says:

    Janet, what wonderful photographs. I love that you chose one color and focused on that. Red was the perfect choice!


Leave a comment