Janet’s thread

A weblog, mostly about knitting but other topics appear

Just For The Record October 20, 2011

Filed under: Books,Seasons,Seattle — Janet @ 1:09 am

I can’t seem to think of a momentous topic to write about so I’ll just show you my latest reading.

  An Alexander McCall Smith which has been on my shelf of unreads for quite a while.  Definitely a comfort read.  I like his books but in small doses separated by large amounts of time.

  a new book by Andrea Camilleri – an Inspecctor Montalbano mystery.  Set in Sicily with a convoluted plot but I have developed an affection for this Inspector and his colleagues and his girl friend.  Again, I like these books but, like Alexander McCall Smith, in small doses after gaps  in time.

  Here’s an author I have not read before.  I am only half way through.  It is a collection of pieces written for The New Yorker over 60 and 70 years ago.  So far I would compare Joseph Mitchell with John McPhee who is writing today but has been writing for many years on whatever topic takes his fancy.  I first heard of Joseph Mitchell through reading my internet friend Matt’s blog – now on checking the table of contents I see that the stories that Matt recommended are much further along in this 700+ page book.  Check Matt’s blog for June 11, 2011.

By the way, this book Up in the Old Hotel is one I found at the Couth Buzzard – a 2nd hand book store nearby where I have taken numerous books and have a huge amount of credit for same.  But I’m still in the phase of trying to get rid of books rather than adding new or used ones to my collection.  So I am staying away from the Couth Buzzard for a while longer before I go to redeem my credits.

 

As I write this, it has grown darker and darker and it is only 6 o’clock.  The shortening of the days is on the gallop.

 

3 Responses to “Just For The Record”

  1. Mary Lou Says:

    Up in the Old Hotel is one of my favorites! I was just talking about it with a friend the other night. She had picked it up somewhere. When I broke my ankle and was laid up for week one winter it showed up in my mailbox. My best pal in NY thought I’d enjoy it, and I really did. I also enjoy Camilleri and McCall Smith, but as you so aptly put it, in small doses, separated by some time.

  2. Matt Says:

    Janet,
    Thanks for the mention! I’m so glad you picked up the Mitchell! I’d like to hear more about what you think of it, whether any of it in particular stands out for you. I went back to my own blog to see what post you were referring to, and I think you meant June 8, here: http://bythedarkofthemoon.wordpress.com/2011/06/08/no-courage-to-be-silent/, but I didn’t actually mention any stories there. I did in a previous post: http://bythedarkofthemoon.wordpress.com/2009/08/20/why-i-write-this-way/

  3. Bonnie Mairs Says:

    I have the Mitchell book and really enjoyed it; can’t give it up. I don’t know how you can let go of books you really liked. I just keep them; they are old friends. Of course my apartment is stacked with books everywhere.

    Enjoyed seeing all your handwork projects. Did you go to the craft fair? Sell anything?


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers